Sleep, Pray, Love: Ramzan Diaries

Everyone in my house gathers round the telly just before 7pm, eager to hear the Azaan so that we may open our fast, not having eaten anything since 3.30am! We listen patiently for the siren that goes off in the area as we set various eats on the table, everyone scrambling to make a tall glass of their favourite drinks. Those who are fasting look like a zombies as they trudge along having just scrambled out of bed to the promise of food and drink.

The first few days, I must confess, are terrible! Caffeine withdrawal, dehydration and hunger pangs set in. But today, day 5, doesn’t seem to be so bad. We also have some respite as the monsoon rains unleashed themselves upon us and things seem to have cooled down a little.

Every year I take away a lot from fasting – but this year, perhaps, more so. In Lahore’s sweltering heat, with temperatures between 38-43 degrees on average and often no electricity I sweat out whatever little hydration I had in my body as I try to focus on work. I feel the pain of those who go through this on a daily basis, not of their own accord. When a feast of delicious, fried goodies, dripping in oil, fresh fruits, dates, and icy drinks are laid out for us at dusk, they’re still starving. It really makes me think.

Though it may have it’s health benefits, that is the very lesson that we’re meant to learn. How fortunate we are to have the hand that we were dealt and how grateful we should be for our circumstances. And if it hits you hard enough, perhaps, you think about what you can do to ease the suffering of others who don’t always have food to eat or clean water to drink. Something to ponder as you pop that date into your mouth this evening!

Quotes of the Day!

Buddhism really speaks to me. It works out well as a way of life, teaches respect, kindness and above all love for all creation. It inspires me on a daily basis and it was with this that I embarked upon my A-level art portfolio: Nirvana. For now I bring you quotes… but in my other blog, whenever I find time I will be posting some paintings of that era so long ago.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image